This Naija Life #43

Hello Family!

I know it’s been a HOT minute since I’ve posted anything but like I said in my last post, I really wanted take the time to get adjusted to my new life in Nigeria. Now many of you may remember my friend Marla who was in China with me.  This year we were blessed to be hired at the same school so it makes things easier for us to hang out with each other.  After a long flight from New York to London I was able to meet Marla at Heathrow airport, where we would fly on to Abuja.

img_8089

Once in the plane I sat next to a guy who would eventually become more than my seat mate, but I’ll tell you about that later.

img_8096

I finally made it safely and was met by the elementary and high school principals of our new schools.  We got into the school bus and we headed straight to our new apartments.  My apartment wasn’t so fabulous compared to what I had in China but paint, new furniture, and some pictures do work wonders!

I painted the walls from a pee-pee yellow to a terra cotta and pacific blue color.  I moved the office furniture sofas from the living room and commissioned a local carpenter to make me a leather sofa.  From there I began to put up little accents of artwork from home, including my favorite Kashmir prints of my favorite TV shows “A Different World” and “Martin.”  Once I did that my school issued apartment suddenly felt like a home.

img_9841

img_9690

It’s crazy that I would purchase my first car EVER here in Nigeria! I became the proud owner of a 2010 Honda Pilot and as you can see I’m representing Jamaica in full effect!!!!!! The funniest thing is that I don’t even drive LOL!!!! I now have a full time drive and housekeeper in my employ.

So now for the good stuff…on my flight I met this nosey dude that kept pestering me.  He turn off my TV screen on the plane and after a while I got annoyed and slapped him. That slap would lead into the start of a beautiful relationship…8 months later Nkem and I are still together lol.

Living on the continent has been good for me and I’m learning and seeing thing differently.  Now, I do want folks to know that living here isn’t perfect…there’s no place that is truly perfect. Nigeria has it’s issues that make living here difficult like tribalism, corruption, poor infrastructure, and the damaging effects of colonialism but I would still rather be here than any where else.

For a long time I’ve been really unhappy and it became a normal thing for me…now everything is changing and I’m happy about that.  I promise I will write more and update you all on how live in Naija is going.

Love, peace, and soul!

Keesh

2 thoughts on “This Naija Life #43

Leave a Reply

